3 ways to keep a stream of clients during a recession

Sarah Kat
5 min readMay 17, 2020

If you follow me on social media, or are subscribed to my #MarketingMagicMondays email list (join me here) then you will have been expecting me to go live on YouTube on Saturday.

But tech and the Universe had other plans! I ended up going live on my Facebook page as a plan B, but the sound was terrible — so don’t watch that!

Instead, as promised, I’m writing this post for you, so you get the same tips I was sharing on the video.

So without further ado, here are 3 remarkably simple things you can be doing to keep the clients coming as we head into a recession.

1. It’s all about referrals

I’m going to tell you HOW I get referrals. But first, I want to make sure you understand WHY they are my number 1 tip.

In a nutshell, getting a referred client almost completely bypasses the normal ‘sales funnel’ process of content marketing. You need to do very little convincing to get somebody who has been referred to you by a trusted friend or colleague of theirs, to actually book in a session.

The point of marketing, or course, is to show people why you are the right coach or therapist for them. But when a person is referred to you, whoever did that referring has already sung your praises. For…

--

--

Sarah Kat

Self help, neuropsychology, small business and marketing. An Elective Orphan and abuse survivor. https://bit.ly/highlights-email